Benefit

Relieving traffic congestion, and improving the community environment in the vicinity by providing greening and landscape, re-provisioning of public facilities and preserving cultural.

Relief of Traffic Congestion

Central Kowloon Route (CKR) is an alternative express route.

The traffic of the existing major east-west corridors in Kowloon, including Lung Cheung Road, Boundary Street, Prince Edward Road West, Argyle Street, Waterloo Road, Gascoigne Road Flyover and Chatham Road North, are nearing or have exceeded the road capacities resulting in frequent traffic congestion. The long traffic queue makes it difficult for traffic from the slip roads to merge with these major roads, thus propagating the traffic congestion to adjacent areas.

CKR, as an alternative express route for vehicles bypassing the congested road network, will significantly reduce the journey time. Upon commissioning, the journey time between West Kowloon and Kowloon Bay will be around 5 minutes, which is 25 minutes less than that without CKR. CKR will also substantially reduce the traffic volumes along the major east-west corridors, thus relieving traffic congestion. The improved traffic conditions will also benefit adjacent areas, including Wong Tai Sin, Ho Man Tin and Kowloon City.

Greening and Landscaping

We will provide greening in conjunction with the construction of CKR to improve the environment in the vicinity.

A landscaped deck of approximately 22,000m2 will be constructed above the CKR western tunnel portal at Yau Ma Tei to beautify the environment. It will also be connected to the landscaped deck of the West Kowloon Station of Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Hong Kong Section) to provide more greenery and a leisure area for public enjoyment. More public open spaces could also be provided for landscaping after re-provisioning of public facilities at Kansu Street due to the CKR project.

Conceptual Image(Design Stage)

Yau Ma Tei Landscaped Deck
A landscaped deck structure of about 250m-long from east to west and 270m-long from south to north will be constructed above the western tunnel portal of CKR. The landscaped deck will cover the depressed road (constructed under Yau Ma Tei West Contract) and the section of Hoi Wang Road between Yan Cheung Road and Lai Cheung Road to provide additional green space. It will also be connected with the landscaped deck of the West Kowloon Station of Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Hong Kong Section), forming a grade-separated pedestrian route between Yau Ma Tei and the station. The landscaped deck will be opened for  public enjoyment.

Conceptual Image(Design Stage)

Yau Ma Tei Landscaped Deck
A landscaped deck structure of about 250m-long from east to west and 270m-long from south to north will be constructed above the western tunnel portal of CKR. The landscaped deck will cover the depressed road of Yau Ma Tei West Contract and the section of Hoi Wang Road between Yan Cheung Road and Lai Cheung Road to provide additional green space. It will also be connected with the landscaped deck of the West Kowloon Station of Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Hong Kong Section), forming a grade-separated pedestrian route between Yau Ma Tei and the station. The landscaped deck will be opened to the public as a sitting-out area.

Reprovisioning of Public Facilities

Several public facilities along the tunnel alignment need to be reprovisioned to facilitate the construction works.

Yau Ma Tei Police Station

To facilitate the tunnel construction works, the former Yau Ma Tei Police Station (YMTPS) has to be temporarily closed. The Police Station has been relocated to the new Police Station Building at Yau Cheung Road in 2016. For public convenience, the operation of the Police Reporting Centre in the YMTPS is maintained.

Yau Ma Tei Jade Hawker Bazaar

The Yau Ma Tei Jade Hawker Bazaar at Canton Road and Battery Street has been demolished to facilitate the construction works of CKR. The existing stalls have been temporarily reprovisioned in the Temporary Jade Hawker Bazaar.

Yau Ma Tei Public Library

To facilitate the construction works of CKR, we have to demolish the Yau Ma Tei Carpark Building. Offices of Social Welfare Department, Lands Department and Transport Department in the building have been reprovisioned in the West Kowloon Government Offices in 2019.
The public library in the Yau Ma Tei Carpark Building has been reprovisioned temporarily at the south of the Henry G. Leong Yau Ma Tei Community Centre, accommodated in the same temporary building with Yau Ma Tei Jade Hawker Bazaar.

Yau Ma Tei Maternal and Child Health Centre

To facilitate the construction works of CKR, Yau Ma Tei Specialist Clinic Extension has been demolished. The Hospital Authority facilities in the building have been reprovisioned in a new building in Queen Elizabeth Hospital. The facilities of the Department of Health in the building, including the Dermatological Clinic and Methadone Clinic, have been reprovisioned progressively in the adjacent Yau Ma Tei Jockey Club Polyclinic.
The Maternal and Child Health Centre in the building have been temporarily reprovisioned at Yau Cheung Road and started its operation in the 2nd quarter of 2020.

Preservation of Cultural Heritage

The CKR works involve some features and sites with conservation value. We will try our best to preserve the cultural heritage.

Conservation of former Yau Ma Tei Police Station

The former Yau Ma Tei Police Station has been listed as a Grade II historic building. The tunnel alignment of CKR completely avoids encroaching on the Police Station’s Old Wing. The New Wing can be preserved through underpinning. The existing kitchen of the Police Station, laundry and the building structures in the car park have to be demolished in conjunction with the construction works of CKR.

Temple Street Night Market

Since the tunnel alignment goes through the Yau Ma Tei Carpark Building, the building has to be demolished to facilitate the construction works. During the construction period, covered hoardings and walkways are installed along the Temple Street and Shanghai Street on the periphery of the building to ensure pedestrian safety and avoid disruption to night market activities.

Kowloon City Ferry Pier and Kowloon City Vehicular Ferry Pier

The “Kowloon City Ferry Pier” and “Kowloon City Vehicular Ferry Pier (i.e. marine section)” at the coastline of To Kwa Wan are located around the site boundary of CKR – Kai Tak West Project. The contractor will implement proper mitigation measures in accordance with contract requirements to ensure the structures will not be affected by the tunnel construction works. With reference to the guideline provided by the relevant departments, we had conducted a Built Heritage Impact Assessment for the Graded Historic Buildings. Assessment results indicated that the construction and the operation of the CKR project would not have any insurmountable impacts on the Historic Buildings with the proposed mitigation measures implemented properly.

Environmental Measures

The CKR’s Environmental Impact Assessment Report was approved by the Environmental Protection Department in July 2013, with the Environmental Permit issued in August 2013. The major part of CKR is formed by tunnel. This will help reducing the number of vehicles on at-grade roads in Central Kowloon as well as shortening the travelling time. Air pollution and noise nuisance caused by vehicles are also reduced, thus improving the living quality of residents in Central Kowloon.

Air Quality Improvement

Three ventilation buildings will be constructed in Yau Ma Tei, Ho Man Tin and Kai Tak Development Area under the CKR project. Each ventilation building will be equipped with an advanced air purification system which will effectively remove at least 80% of nitrogen dioxide and respirable suspended particulates from the tunnel exhaust. Furthermore, the CKR is mainly constructed in the form of tunnel, together with its function as an alternative express route, it can significantly reduce the at-grade traffic flow and traffic congestion, reducing the air pollution and noise nuisances generated by the traffic, hence bringing overall environmental benefits.

Noise Mitigation Measures

The CKR, which is mainly constructed in the form of tunnel, will significantly relieve the traffic congestion on the existing at-grade roads between East and West Kowloon, thereby reducing the noise nuisance caused by vehicles.

The works also include the construction of Public Works Project 875TH – Gascoigne Road Flyover Noise Enclosure, which is an approximately 40m-long full noise enclosure covering a section of Gascoigne Road Flyover fronting Yau Ma Tei Catholic Primary School (with vertical openings) and an approximately 100m-long full noise enclosure fronting Block 1 to Block 5 of Prosperous Garden. Connecting to the original noise enclosures for the main project of the CKR, the section of Gascoigne Road Flyover from Nathan Road to the Yau Ma Tei Catholic Primary School will be equipped with noise enclosure to further minimize the nuisance to nearby residents generated by road traffic noise.

noise_barrier
Sustainability Development

The CKR strives to reduce its impacts on the environment and improve environmental quality throughout its planning, design and construction stages. Assessment for the Hong Kong Green Building Council’s BEAM Plus New Buildings Version 2.0 will be carried out for the Kai Tak Administration Building, and it aims to obtain the Platinum rating by achieving an overall score of over 75 in specified performance aspects, including energy use, health, integrated design and construction management, sustainable sites, materials and waste, water use, and innovations etc.

The construction of Kai Tak Administration Building and Ventilation Building will adopt prefabrication technology and use sustainable forest products, recycled and regionally materials, green products, and ozone-depleting-substance-free materials as much as practicable. In the planning and design stages, the adoption of renewable energy, natural lighting, and rainwater irrigation system for greenery have been actively considered to reduce electricity and water consumption.

Scroll to Top

效益

紓緩交通擠塞,並改善附近社區環境,包括綠化及景觀、重置公共設施、文化及保育。

紓緩交通擠塞

中九龍幹線是一條快速替代道路。

現時來往九龍東西的主要道路,包括龍翔道、界限街、太子道西、亞皆老街、窩打老道、加士居道行車天橋以及漆咸道北等的交通已接近或已超出道路的容車量,故經常出現交通擠塞情況。長長的車龍令支路車輛難以匯入這些主要道路,使擠塞情況蔓延至周邊地區。

中九龍幹線,作為一條快速替代道路,令車輛繞過現時擠塞路段,將大大節省行車時間。我們預計工程完成後,在繁忙時間取道幹線來往西九龍與九龍灣的車程約為5分鐘,與沒有幹線的情況比較,大大節省了約25分鐘。中九龍幹線亦會分流主要東西向道路的交通流量,紓緩其擠塞情況。周邊地區如黃大仙、何文田及九龍城等亦可因交通情況改善而同時受惠。

綠化及景觀

我們會藉著興建中九龍幹線,綠化及改善附近的環境。

中九龍幹線位於油麻地的西面隧道出入口將建有面積約22,000平方米的園景平台,以美化附近環境。該平台將連接至廣深港高速鐵路(香港段)西九龍站的園景平台,為公眾提供更多綠化和休憩空間。油麻地沿甘肅街部分公共設施因中九龍幹線工程須重置,亦可利用騰出的空間進行綠化。

概念圖(設計階段)

油麻地園景平台
中九龍幹線西面隧道出口上將建有一個由東至西長約250米,南至北長約270米的園景平台。園景平台將覆蓋油麻地西工程建造的一段低於地面道路及麗翔道至欣翔道的一段海泓道,提供額外綠化空間。此園景平台亦會連接廣深港高速鐵路(香港段)西九龍站的園景平台,形成一條連接油麻地至廣深港高速鐵路(香港段)西九龍站的分層行人路線,並開放予公眾人士作休憩處。

概念圖(設計階段)

油麻地園景平台
中九龍幹線西面隧道出口上將建有一個由東至西長約250米,南至北長約270米的園景平台。園景平台將覆蓋油麻地西工程建造的一段低於地面道路及麗翔道至欣翔道的一段海泓道,提供額外綠化空間。此園景平台亦會連接廣深港高速鐵路(香港段)西九龍站的園景平台,形成一條連接油麻地至廣深港高速鐵路(香港段)西九龍站的分層行人路線,並開放予公眾人士作休憩處。

重置公共設施

隧道沿線數個公共設施需要重置,以配合工程。

油蔴地警署

由於興建隧道需要暫時封閉舊油蔴地警署,警署已於2016年遷往位於友翔道的新警署大樓。

而為方便市民,舊油蔴地警署舊翼內的報案中心會維持運作。

油麻地玉器小販市場

為配合中九龍幹線工程,我們已拆卸位於廣東道及炮台街的油麻地玉器小販市場。現有的攤檔已遷至鄰近的臨時玉器小販市場。

油蔴地公共圖書館

為配合中九龍幹線工程,我們必須清拆油麻地停車場大廈。大廈內原有的社會福利署、地政總署及運輸署的辦公室,已於2019年在西九龍政府合署重置。

大廈內的公共圖書館亦已臨時遷往梁顯利油麻地社區中心以南,與油麻地臨時玉器小販市場共用的一個臨時建築物。

油麻地母嬰健康院

為配合中九龍幹線工程,我們已拆卸油蔴地分科診療所(新翼)。位於診所大樓內的醫院管理局設施,已在伊利沙伯醫院新大樓重置。

而位於診所大樓內衞生署設施,包括皮膚科診所及美沙酮診所已陸續在毗鄰的油麻地賽馬會分科診所重置。

位於診所大樓內的母嬰健康院已於友翔道臨時重置,並已於2020年第2季開始運作。

文化及保育

中九龍幹線工程涉及區內一些具保育價值及特色的地點。我們會盡量保留受影響的文物。

保育舊油蔴地警署

舊油蔴地警署已獲評為二級歷史建築物。現時的中九龍幹線隧道走線會完全避開警署舊翼。而新翼仍可透過托底加固工程完整保留。而警署的廚房、洗衣場及泊車位的建築結構,則會配合工程而拆卸。

廟街夜市

由於隧道走線會經過油麻地停車場大廈,我們需要拆卸該大廈以配合工程。在施工期間,我們會沿大廈外圍的廟街及上海街設置有蓋圍板及行人路,以確保行人安全及避免影響夜市活動。

九龍城客輪碼頭及九龍城汽車渡輪碼頭

位處於土瓜灣海濱的「九龍城客輪碼頭」及「九龍城汽車渡輪碼頭(即海上部分)」均座落於中九龍幹線 – 啟德西工程區域附近,承建商須按照施工合約的要求採取適當的緩解措施,監察並確保該些建築物不受隧道工程影響。我們已按相關部門所提供的指引,為中九龍幹線工程進行文化遺産影響評估。評估結果亦顯示在採取適當的緩解措施後,中九龍幹線工程於建造期間及運作階段均不會影響該等建築物。

環保措施

環境保護署於2013年7月批准中九龍幹線的環境影響評估報告,並於2013年8月批出環境許可證。 中九龍幹線大部份路段由隧道構成,有助減少中九龍區地面道路的車輛流量,並縮短行車時間。這些改善可減少車輛引致的空氣污染和噪音滋擾,提高中九龍區居民的生活質素。

改善空氣質素

中九龍幹線工程將於油麻地、何文田及啓德發展區興建三座通風大樓,並於大樓內安裝空氣淨化系統,去除隧道排氣內最少八成的二氧化氮及可吸入懸浮粒子。此外,中九龍幹線主要由隧道組成,加上其作為快速替代道路的功能,可大大減少地面道路的車流量及交通擠塞,從而減少車輛引致的空氣污染和噪音滋擾,達致整體環境的改善。

噪音緩解措施

中九龍幹線主要由隧道組成,通車後將大大紓緩現時來往九龍東西地面道路交通擠塞情況,從而減少地面車輛帶來的噪音滋擾。

此外,工程還包括在工務工程計劃875TH號「加士居道天橋隔音罩」下,在油蔴地天主教小學對出的一段加士居道天橋建造長約40米的密封式隔音罩(設垂直開口),及於駿發花園第1座和第5座對出建造一段長約100米的密封式隔音罩。連同中九龍幹線主要工程原有的隔音罩,由彌敦道至在油蔴地天主教小學對出的一段加士居道天橋將設置隔音罩,紓緩交通噪音對附近居民的影響。

noise_barrier
可持續發展

中九龍幹線工程於規劃、設計及施工期間一直致力減低對環境的影響及改善環境質素,其中啟德行政大樓項目已參與香港綠色建築議會「綠建環評新建建築2.0版」評估,目標於能源使用、健康、綜合設計與建造管理、可持續發展、用材及廢物管理、用水、創新等指定範疇達到75分以上,以獲得鉑金等級認證。

啟德行政大樓及通風大樓建造工程將應用預製組件技術,並盡量使用可持續森林產品、循環再造及區域內物料、綠色產品,以及無破壞臭氧物質的物料。規劃及設計時亦積極考慮利用可再生能源、自然光照明和雨水灌溉綠化地帶等的可能性,以減少電力和水資源消耗。

Scroll to Top