Design of Central Kowloon Route

Overview

At the investigation and preliminary design stage, we compared the impacts of different alignment options on reprovisioning of community facilities, environment, land and transport and made reference to comments collected during the public engagement process to select the present alignment. This alignment consists mainly of tunnel starting from Hoi Wang Road, running along Kansu Street, crossing Nathan Road and entering King’s Park, Ho Man Tin, Ma Tau Wai and Ma Tau Kok, crossing Kowloon Bay and surfacing again in KTD. The preferred alignment is 4.7km long and around 3.9km of its length will be a road tunnel. This alignment will not involve demolition of private developments and rehousing. It can also preserve the historic building of the Yau Ma Tei Police Station. However, temporary reclamation would be required to facilitate the construction of a 370m long underwater tunnel.

Overview of Central Kowloon Route (CKR)

Yau Ma Tei Section

CKR will connect with the Yau Ma Tei Interchange of West Kowloon Highway in the west through 7 slip roads and through the interchange to West Kowloon Highway, Lin Cheung Road and Lai Cheung Road. Westbound traffic using CKR can get access through these slip roads to the Hong Kong Island in the south, Hong Kong International Airport and Kwai Tsing Container Terminal in the west and Northwest New Territories in the north. Vehicles can also get access to the West Kowloon Reclamation Development, the West Kowloon Terminus of the XRL and West Kowloon Cultural District through Lin Cheung Road.

CKR (Yau Ma Tei Section) Layout Plan Cut-and-Cover Tunnel Cross Section

The slip roads of CKR will be connected through a section of depressed road of about 200m in length to the section of cut-and-cover tunnel of about 400m in length crossing Ferry Street, running along Kansu Street and ending at Shanghai Street. The route along Kansu Street was chosen because it is the only route with wider width and will not involve resumption of any private properties.

In response to public concerns on the environmental impacts arising from the western tunnel portal, a landscape deck will be constructed above the western tunnel portal to cover a section of the CKR mainline as well as the section of Hoi Wang Road between Waterloo Road and Yan Cheung Road to minimize the environmental impacts of the tunnel portal. We have also moved the tunnel ventilation building from its original location near Ferry Street to the Yau Ma Tei Interchange at West Kowloon Highway to reduce the air quality impacts on nearby residents.

General View of Yau Ma Tei Interchange

King's Park, Ho Man Tin and Ma Tau Wai Section

The second section of the CKR tunnel is 2.76 km long and starts from Shanghai Street going through Nathan Road, King’s Park, Ho Man Tin and Ma Tau Wai. The tunnel will be constructed in rock stratum about 20 to 140 m below ground level using drill-and-blast method. As there will be substantial separation between the tunnel and building foundations, the construction works will not affect the structural integrity of existing buildings. After the commissioning of CKR, there will be a reduction of around 10%-20% in the traffic flow along major trunk roads and help relieve the existing congested situation.

After Phase 2 Public Engagement, we have slightly revised the alignment of CKR at King’s Park Section after considering the public views collected from King’s Park residents. The revised alignment is shown in the figure below.

Layout Plan of CKR (King’s Park, Ho Man Tin and Ma Tau Wai Sections) Cross Section of Drill-and-Blast Tunnel

Ma Tau Kok and Kowloon Bay Section

On the eastern side of the drill-and-blast tunnel is a section of cut-and-cover tunnel of about 140m in length to be constructed at the Kowloon City Ferry Pier Public Transport Interchange.

Layout Plan of CKR (Ma Tau Kok, Kowloon Bay and Kai Tak Section) Cross Section of Underwater Tunnel

The cut-and-cover tunnel will be connected to Kai Tak Development through an underwater tunnel of about 370m in length to be constructed in the seabed of Kowloon Bay. This route is chosen mainly because it will not involve any resumption/clearance of private properties. The tunnel will be constructed by temporary reclamation method. Temporary reclamation is the only safe and practical construction method given the various site constraints.

Kai Tak Section

The eastern end of CKR connects to Kai Tak Interchange and its slip roads leading to Kowloon Bay, Kwun Tong and Kai Tak Development, making it convenient to travel between these areas and West Kowloon. Vehicles can also make use of the road network in the Kai Tak Development to reach various destinations at the South Apron, North Apron and Runway of Kai Tak Development including the Cruise Terminal.

General View of CKR (Kai Tak Section)

项目的设计

概要

在勘测及初步设计阶段,我们比较了中九龙干线各方案对社区设施重置、环境、土地及交通方面的影响,并参考公众参与过程中所收集到的意见,选取了现时的走线。走线主要由隧道组成,西起海泓道,沿甘肃街,经弥敦道进入京士柏、何文田,马头围,马头角,再经过九龙湾,在启德发展区返回地面。现走线全长4.7公里,当中约3.9公里为隧道,主要在深入地底岩层建造,不会与走线上楼宇的地基发生冲突,亦不涉及任何私人物业的清拆或住户搬迁,并能保留油麻地警署的历史建筑,但需在九龙湾进行长约370米的临时填海,以建造海底隧道。

中九龙干线概览

油麻地段

中九龙干线将以7条支路连接至西面的油麻地交汇处,再连接西九龙公路,连翔道及丽翔道。车辆可经西九龙公路,南往香港岛西部,西至香港国际机场和葵涌货柜码头,北行前往新界西北。车辆亦可经连翔道进出西九龙发展区、广深港高速铁路西九龙站及西九龙文化艺术区。

中九龙干线 (油麻地段) 平面图 明挖回填式隧道剖面图

中九龙干线的支路会以一段长约200米低於地面的道路连接明挖回填隧道,经渡船街与甘肃街交界进入甘肃街至上海街,全长约400米。选择甘肃街的原因是这是唯一较宽阔和并不涉及拆卸私人楼宇的通道。

为回应公众对隧道西面出口环境影响的关注,此隧道出口将建有园景平台,覆盖一段约250米长的中九龙干线主线及窝打老道至欣翔道一段的海泓道,减少隧道出口对环境的影响。我们亦已将通风大楼由原本靠近渡船街的位置,迁往西九龙公路的油麻地交汇处,减低对附近住宅的空气质素影响。

油麻地交汇处全貌

京士柏、何文田及马头围段

中九龙干线第二段隧道由上海街开始,经弥敦道、京士柏、何文田至马头围,全长约2.76公里。隧道将在距离地面约20至140米的岩层采用钻爆方式建造。由於隧道与楼宇地基保持相当距离,因此工程不会影响沿线楼宇的结构安全。中九龙干线通车后,区內主要道路车流会较现时少约10%至20%,对现时挤塞路面有纾缓作用。

在第二期公众参与活动后,我们就京士柏居民的要求,稍为修改了中九龙干线京士柏段的走线。修改后的走线请见下图。

中九龙干线(京士柏、何文田及马头围段) 平面图 钻爆隧道剖面图

马头角及九龙湾段

在钻爆隧道的东面是一段长约140米的明挖回填隧道,在马头角现有的九龙城码头公共运输交汇处建造。

中九龙干线(马头角、九龙湾及启德段) 平面图 海底隧道剖面图

九龙湾段在马头角段的东面,经九龙湾海床建造,长约370米的海底隧道连接启德发展区。选择这路线的主要原因是避免因建造中九龙干线而收回私人物业。隧道将会用临时填海的方法建造。由於周边的各种限制,临时填海是唯一安全及可行的建造方法。

启德段

中九龙干线东面的启德交汇处连接九龙湾、观塘和启德发展区,方便来往这些地区及西九龙。车辆亦可经启德发展区的道路网进出南停机坪、北停机坪及在机场跑道上的各项发展,包括邮轮码头等。

中九龙干线 (启德段)