Benefits of Central Kowloon Route

Overview

CKR is a 4.7 km long dual 3-lane trunk road in Central Kowloon linking the Yau Ma Tei Interchange in West Kowloon with the road network in Kai Tak Development and Kowloon Bay in East Kowloon. The benefits of CKR include relieving congestion along the existing major east-west corridors, enhancing linkages between districts and underpinning various developments in Kowloon.

Relief of Congestion on Major East-West Corridors

The traffic along the existing major east-west corridors in Kowloon, including Lung Cheung Road, Boundary Street, Prince Edward Road West, Argyle Street, Waterloo Road, Gascoigne Road Flyover and Chatham Road North is approaching or has exceeded their design capacities resulting in frequent traffic congestion. The long queues make it difficult for traffic from the side roads turning into these major roads thus propagating the traffic congestion to adjacent areas.

Traffic Congestion on Prince Edward Road West Traffic Congestion on Boundary Street Traffic Congestion on Lung Cheung Road Traffic Congestion on Argyle Street Traffic Congestion on Waterloo Road

CKR will provide an alternative route for the traffic to bypass the congested road network thus significantly reducing the journey time. With CKR, we estimate that the journey time between Yau Ma Tei and Kowloon Bay during peak hours would take around 5 minutes, saving about 25 minutes in comparison with the journey time without the CKR. CKR will also substantially reduce the traffic volumes along major east-west corridors thus relieving the traffic congestion. The improved traffic conditions will also benefit areas adjacent to CKR including Wong Tai Sin, Ho Man Tin and Kowloon City.

Enhancing Linkages between Districts and Underpinning Developments

CKR will also connect with the highways on the eastern and western sides of Kowloon thus forming a key component of the strategic road network. In this regard, the Kai Tak Interchange on the eastern side will connect CKR with the road network in Kowloon Bay, Kwun Tong and Kai Tak Development (KTD), making it convenient to travel between these areas and West Kowloon; while at the same time providing essential transport infrastructure for supporting the Energizing Kowloon East initiative introduced by the Government. CKR together with the proposed Trunk Road T2 at KTD and Tseung Kwan O – Lam Tin Tunnel will form Route 6 with a total length of 12.5km that will directly link up West Kowloon and Tseung Kwan O.

The Yau Ma Tei Interchange located on the western side will provide comprehensive slip roads connecting West Kowloon Highway and Lin Cheung Road. Vehicles can use West Kowloon Highway to access Western Harbour Crossing and Hong Kong Island in the south, Kwai Tsing Container Terminal and Hong Kong International Airport in the west as well as Northwest New Territories in the north. Vehicles can also access the West Kowloon Development Area, West Kowloon Terminus of Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (XRL) and West Kowloon Cultural District via Lin Cheung Road.

Route 6 Linking up West Kowloon and Tseung Kwan O

项目的效益

概要

中九龙干线,是一条贯通九龙中部,连接西九龙的油麻地交汇处,东九龙的启德发展区及九龙湾的道路网,总长度4.7公里,采用双程三线分隔车道设计的干道。中九龙干线的效益包括纾缓现有主要东西干道的挤塞、以及加强各区联系,支持九龙区的各项发展。

纾缓现有主要东西干道的挤塞

现时来往九龙东西的主要道路,包括龙翔道、界限街、太子道、亚皆老街、窝打老道、加士居道行车天桥以及漆咸道北等的交通已接近或已超出这些道路的容车量,所以经常出现交通挤塞情况。长长的车龙令支路的车辆难以转入这些主要道路,使挤塞情况往往蔓延至周边地区。

太子道西交通挤塞情况 界限街交通挤塞情况 龙翔道交通挤塞情况 亚皆老街交通挤塞情况 窝打老道交通挤塞情况

中九龙干线将提供一条快速替代道路,令车辆绕过现时挤塞的路段,大大节省行车时间。将来通车后,预计在繁忙时间取道干线来往西九龙与九龙湾的车程约为5分钟,与没有干线的情况比较,节省约25分钟。中九龙干线亦会分流主要东西干道的交通流量,纾缓其挤塞情况。周边地区如黄大仙、何文田及九龙城等亦可因交通情况改善而同时受惠。

加强各区联系,支持各项发展

另外,干线连接九龙东西两边的高速公路,将会成为本港策略性道路网的一个关键环节。在这方面,干线东面的启德交汇处连接九龙湾、观塘、和启 德发展区,方便车辆来往这些地区及西九龙,并为政府推出的「起动九龙东」计划提供必需的交通配套。中九龙干线将会与在启德发展区兴建的T2 主 干路,以及将军澳-蓝田隧道,组成全长12.5 公里的6 号干线,直接连系西九龙和将军澳。

中九龙干线在西面的油麻地交汇处有四通八达的支路连接西九龙公路及连翔道。车辆可经西九龙公路,南往香港岛西部,西至香港国际机场和葵涌货 柜码头,北行前往新界西北。车辆亦可经连翔道进出西九龙发展区、广深港高速铁路西九龙站及西九龙文化区。

贯通西九龙与将军澳的6号干线